What Is The Name Of International Ozone Protection Agreement

Since 23 June 2015, all countries of the United Nations, the Cook Islands, the Holy See, Niue and the European Union have ratified the original Montreal Protocol (see external link below) [42], with South Sudan being the last country to ratify the agreement, bringing the total to 197. These countries also ratified the london, Copenhagen, Montreal and Beijing amendments. [12] Damage to the planet`s protective ozone layer has raised unprecedented concerns and actions around the world. Since the 1987 international agreement on the phasing out of ozone-depleting substances, 197 countries have ratified the Montreal Protocol. In January 2012, South Sudan ratified the Montreal Protocol, making it the first international environmental treaty to be fully ratified – a truly remarkable effort that reflects the overall acceptance and success of the agreement. On 13 January 1982, the Secretariat of the United Nations Environment Programme published a document for the ad hoc working group (UNEP/WG.69/8) entitled ”Some Observations on the Development of a Global Framework Convention for the Protection of the Stratospheric Ozone Layer.” In particular, the document referred to the relevant recommendations and contributions of the ad hoc meeting of the government`s senior environmental law official (October 28 to November 6, 1981) (UNEP/WG.69/8, para. 7, 8, 36 and 37), of the UNEP Ozone Layer Coordination Committee (UNEP/WG.69/8, 8 Paragraphs 3, 8, 15 and 33), as well as the documents submitted by the delegations of Finland, Sweden, Switzerland and Norway (UNEP/69/8, para. 9, 36 and 42), including the draft International Convention for the Protection of the Stratospheric Ozone Layer (UNEP/EEC.69/3). The Global Alliance of Nations for the Protection of the Ozone Layer is the most effective measure to prevent the depletion of the ozone layer over Australia. Australia accounts for less than one per cent of global emissions of ozone-depleting substances. Promoting and supporting other countries through our participation in the Montreal Protocol is the best way to reduce ozone depletion.

The fund is replenished at three years by donors. Commitments amounted to $3.1 billion between 1991 and 2005. These funds will be used, for example, to finance the conversion of existing production processes, to train staff, to pay licence fees and patent fees for new technologies, and to create national ozone boards. In December 2019, the fund amounted to just over $4.1 billion in revenue and $3.8 billion in disbursements. [41] The Copenhagen Amendment (1992) Exit significantly accelerated the abandonment of the ODS and included, from 2004, the abandonment of hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) for industrialized countries. As part of this agreement, CFCs, halons, carbon tetrachloride and methyl chloroform were completely discharged into industrialized countries in 1996. In addition, methyl bromide bromide consumption was limited to its 1991 level. For more information on the release of the ODS, click here . Australia remains one of the first countries to ratify the Montreal Protocol for the phase-out phase-out of ozone-depleting substances.

In many cases, Australia is well ahead of the requirements of the Montreal Protocol. Australia`s approach is based on a cooperative partnership between industry, the community and all levels of government. SAPExit – The Scientific Assessment Panel (SAP) assesses the state of ozone depletion and relevant atmospheric scientific issues. The Montreal Protocol, which was finalized in 1987, is a comprehensive agreement to protect the stratospheric ozone layer by gradually reducing the production and consumption of ozone-depleting substances (SDGs). The Montreal Protocol has proven to be innovative and successful and is the first treaty to be universally ratified by all countries of the world.